Soham, Frenaz win top honours, double crown for Shlok and Pratha


Gandhidham (Gujarat) [India] : Ahmedabad paddler and ninth seed Soham Bhattacharya upset second seed, the winner of the last state ranking meet, Shlok Bajaj of Surat 4-2 to capture the men’s title of the 4th Gujarat State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament 2022 organised by Valsad District TT Association, under the aegis of Gujarat State TT Association at the Nagar Palika Sports Complex in Valsad which concluded on Thursday.

Top seed Frenaz Chipia of Surat hardly broke sweat when she beat her city mate Filzah Kadri 4-2 to take home yet another women’s final trophy.

However, the final of the day was the one in which the Jayswal siblings clashed and third seed Riya defeated her elder sister Namna to capture the junior girls (U-19) final.

Even though Shlok lost his men’s title but still managed a double crown as he won the junior boys (U-19) final by blanking Pratham Madlani of Vadodara 4-0 and then pocketing the U-15 boys title by humbling Arman Shaikh of Aravilli 4-1.

Ahmedabad’s Pratha Pawar too grabbed double crown by winning the junior girls (U-17) and U-15 titles by beating Riya and Nidhi Prajapati respectively.


All results: Men’s Final: 9-Soham Bhattacharya (AHD) bt 2-Shlok Bajaj (SRT) 4-2 (12-10,13-11,2-11,14-12,9-11,11-6); Men’s-3/4 position: Monish Dedhia (AHD) bt Ishaan Hingorani (KCH) 3-2 (11-6,8-11,6-11,11-9,11-9);

Women’s Final: 1-Frenaz Chipia (SRT) bt 2- Filzah Fatema Kadri (SRT) 4-1 (11-8,8-11,11-8,11-4,13-11); Women’s 3/4 position: 6-Namna Jayswal (BVN) bt 4-Pratha Pawar (AHD) 3-0 (11-7,11-3,11-7);

Junior Boys (U-19) Final: Shlok Bajaj (SRT) bt Pratham MAdlani (BRD) 4-0 (11-6,11-4,11-7,11-7);

Junior Girls (U-19) Final: 3- Riya Jayswal (BVN) bt 4-Namna Jayswal (BVN) 4-2 (11-8,11-7,11-9,9-11,13-15,11-8); Junior Girls 3/4 position: 8-Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD) bt 2-Arnee Parmar (SRT) 3-0 (11-4,11-9,11-3);

Junior Girl’s (U-17) Final: 1-Pratha Pawar (AHD) bt 3-Riya Jayswal (BVN) 4-2 (11-4,8-11,8-11,13-11,11-7,11-9); Junior Girls 3/4 position: 4-Arnee Parmar (SRT) bt 2-Nidhi Prajapati (AHD) 3-1 (11-7,11-7,9-11,12-10);

Junior Boys (U-17) Final: 1-Shlok Bajaj (SRT) bt 3-Arman Shaikh (ARV) 4-1 (11-5,6-11,11-7,11-6,11-5); Junior Boys (U-17) 3/4 position: 2- Aayush Tanna (SRT) bt 4-Himansh Dahiya (AHD) 3-1(14-12,11-9,10-12,11-9);

Sub-Junior Boys (U-15) Final: 1-Aayush Tanna (SRT) bt 2- Himansh Dahiya (AHD) 4-2 (3-11,11-6,9-11,11-6,11-4,11-7); Sub-Junior Boys- 3/4 position: Janmejay Patel got W/O from Arya Kataria;

Sub-Junior Girls (U-15) Final: 1-Pratha Pawar (AHD) bt 7- Nidhi Prajapati (AHD) 4-2 (13-11,12-10,6-11,11-6,5-11,11-4); Sub-Junior Girls 3/4 position: 3-Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD) bt 5-Sanaya Achha (SRT) 3-0 (11-6,11-3,11-3);

Cadet Boys (U-13) Final: 2-Malav Panchal (AHD) bt 1-Samarth Shekhawat (SRT) 4-3 (7-11,8-11,11-6,15-13,11-13,13-11,14-12); Cadet Boys -3/4 position: 4-Vihaan Tiwari (AHD) bt 3-Manav Mehta (SRT) 3-0 (11-7,11-8,12-10);

Cadet Girls(U-13) Final: 2-Jiya Trivedi (AHD) bt 1-Mouboni Chatterjee (Ahd) 4-3 (11-6,11-4,11-9,9-11,3-11,7-11,11-9);

Hopes Boys (U-11) Final: 1-Hridan Patel (SRT) bt 3-Krishnav Gupta (SRT) 4-0 (11-7,11-4,11-5,11-8); Hopes boys 3/4 position: 2-Taksh Shah (AHD) bt 4-Anay Bachhawat (SRT) 3-0 (11-5,11-8,11-7);

Hopes Girls (U-11) Final: 2-Daniya Godil (SRT) bt 1- Khwaish Lotia (AHD) 4-0 (11-5,11-8,14-12,11-8); Hopes Girls- 3/4 position: 3-Fiza Pawar (AHD) bt 4-Vincy Tanna (SRT) 3-0 (11-8,11-2,11-5)