Top seed Partha Pawar defeated by eight seed Mouboni Chatterjee of Ahmedabad


Gandhidham (Gujarat) [India] :  Eight seed Mouboni Chatterjee of Ahmedabad created a major flutter when she defeated junior girls (U-19) top seed Pratha Pawar of Ahmedabad in the quarterfinal of the 4th Gujarat State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament 2022 organised by Valsad District TT Association, under the aegis of Gujarat State TT Association at the Nagar Palika Sports Complex in Valsad on Tuesday.

The 12-year-old lost the opening game but showed immense composure to push her practice partner to the wall in the second and third games. Even though the top seed took the next two games but Mouboni came back in the match by taking the next two games to seal the deal 4-3 and book her maiden semi-final berth in U-19 girls’ category.

The other three semi-finalists are fourth-seed Namna Jayswal of Bhavnagar, her younger sister and third-seed Riya Jayswal of Bhavnagar and second seed Arnee Parmar of Surat.

In another upset, cadet girls’ 12th seed Shivani Dodiya of Bhavnagar scripted a come back to throw out fourth seed Daniya Godil of Surat 3-2 and book semis berth.

Sub-junior girls’ quarterfinal too witness upset when seventh seed Nidhi Prajapati of Ahmedabad ousted the second seed Riya 3-2.

All quarterfinal results:

Junior Girls (U-19): 8-Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD) bt 1-Pratha Pawar (AHD) 4-3 (12-14,11-5,11-2,5-11,8-11,11-5,11-1); 4-Namna Jayswal (BVN) bt 5-Khushi Jadav (BVN) 4-2 (10-12,12-10,11-13,11-8,11-5,11-3); 3-Riya Jayswal (BVN) bt 11-Aafrien Murad (SRT) 4-3 (9-11,9-11,11-6,11-9,15-13,5-11,11-8); 2-Arnee Parmar (SRT) bt 7-Siddhi Bulsara (NAV) 4-1 (11-7,5-11,11-8,11-6,11-7).

Cadet Girls (U-13): 1-Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD) bt 8-Vincy Tanna (SRT) 3-0 (11-4,11-4,11-3); 12-Shivani Dodiya (BVN) bt 4-Daniya Godil (SRT) 3-2 (10-12,11-5,11-5,9-11,11-7); 3-Charmy Trivedi (BVN) bt 6-Princy Patel (NAV) 3-0 (11-6,11-2,11-6

4); 2-Jiya Trivedi (AHD) bt 7-Sachi Doshi (BVN) 3-0 (11-6,12-10,11-3).

Sub-junior Girls (U-15): 1-Pratha Pawar (AHD) bt 8-Jiya Trivedi (AHD) 3-1 (5-11,11-6,11-9,11-5); 5-Sanaya Achha (SRT) bt 4- Jahnvi Patel (NAV) 3-0 (11-8,11-8,11-5) ; 3-Mouboni Chatterjee (AHD) bt 6-Tanisha Katarmal (JAM) 3-0 (13-11,11-9,11-7) ; 7- Nidhi Prajapati (AHD) bt 2- Riya Jayswal (BVN) 3-2 (11-7,11-8,4-11,7-11,11-6)